My last election post

[April 15 update: I’ve added poster images, for those who cannot conjure the real people]

These have been on my mind for a while now. Some of them were suggested to me by folks in Dili. Watch me get banned for life for this one… (Although I guess my “The Shaft” comparison is favorable.)

Avelino Coelho ::::: Papa Smurf (this link is also relevant!)

02_avelino.jpg

João Carrascalão ::::: Toad of Toad Hall

07_carrascalao.jpg

Lasama ::::: The Grinch

08_lasama.jpg

Lu Olo ::::: The Shaft

01_luolo.jpg

Manuel Tilman ::::: Chicken Little

04_tilman.jpg

Ramos Horta ::::: [Monty Python’s] The Bishop (video)

06_ramos-horta.jpg

Xavier ::::: Yoda

03_xavier.jpg

Lucia Lobato ::::: in making this list I realize how many of our pop culture references are male. Sigh. Suggestions?

05_lobato.jpg

And then the most pressing question of all, which of these “characters” would make the best Head of State?

Leave a Reply

